Winners in the 24th Euro-kartoenale Kruishoutem 2023, Belgium

Iranian cartoonists at the top in Euro-kartoenale Kruishoutem
EURO-KARTOENALE 'Future of Mobility: On the way to Cartopia'
The big winner of the Euro-kartoenale Kruishoutem is Shahrokh Heidari Sorjani. Sorjani is an Iranian cartoonist who has been living in Reims, France for several years. And he is not the only Iranian to win prizes at this year's 24th edition of the biennial cartoon competition. After all, Javad Takjoo was second and there was another honorable mention for Jamal Rahmati. Third place went to Luka Lagator from Montenegro. This year's theme was 'The Future of Mobility: On the way to Cartopia'. The winners themselves received their prize on Saturday during the festive award ceremony in Kruisem.
Cartoons from 83 countries and the 5 continents with Iran and Turkey in the lead
Traditionally, the organizers were again sent cartoons from all over the world. 543 cartoonists, from 83 countries and the 5 continents, submitted their humorous take on the theme 'Future of Mobility: On the way to Cartopia'. 
For the first time there were also cartoons from Guatemala, Zambia, Tunisia and Myanmar. But it is the big cartoon countries Iran and Turkey that take the crown in the number of participants. Ukraine and Italy are also well represented.
Exhibition : The 130 best cartoons
A selection of the best 130 cartoons will be exhibited until June 18 at the European Cartoon Center in Kruishoutem. The exhibition shows a diversity of cartoons that both provide entertainment and food for thought. A simple joke is interspersed with beautiful colorful cartoons. As if the beautiful packaging like a soft blanket makes the harsh criticism easier to digest. In addition to the works from the competition, you can also view some cartoons from the host country Egypt. 
A beautiful cartoon book with 100 of the best works will also be published for the 24th edition of the Euro-kartoenale. This catalog is available at the desk of the European Cartoon Center or in the webshop www.ecc-kruishoutem.be and costs 20 Euro. 
The full list of winners
The international jury, led by the Italian cartoonist Marilena Nardi, had the very difficult task of selecting some 150 cartoons from 1776 entries for the exhibition and appointing the prize winners. After much discussion, the following prizes were awarded: 
• First Prize: Shahrokh Heidari Sorjani (France) 
• Second Prize: Javad Takjoo (Iran) 
• Third Prize: Luka Lagator (Montenegro) 
• Best Entry European Union: Alessandro Gatto (Italy) 
• Best Belgian Entry: Stefaan Provijn (Sint-Martens Latem) 
• Prize of the ECC: Muzafar Yulchiboev (Uzbekistan) 
The jury also awarded honorable mentions to Jamal Rahmati from Iran and Pieter Lefevere (Kruisem). 

No comments: