Results 13th World Press Freedom International Editorial Cartoon Competition 2013

The jury of the 13th World Press Freedom International Editorial Cartoon Competition, composed of Rod Macdonell, Shawn McCarty and Bado, met last month to choose the winners. Their picks were announced today at the World Press Freedom Day Luncheon at the Ottawa Congress Centre.

The theme: Hard times and free speech
When journalists and cartoonist face economic uncertainty or threats to their employment, there is great pressure to give up on tackling tough stories, give in to self-censorship or give attention to sensationalist journalism in the service of commercial sustainability. But can free speech survive hard times?

Grand Prize: Leslie Ricciardi (Uruguay)
Second Prize: Dale Cummings (Canada) (Top)

Third Prize: Peter Chmela (Slovakia)

Awards of Excellence:
Pierre Berthiaume (Canada)
Roger Tweedt (France)
Simone Orlandini (Italy)
Oleg Loktyev (Russia)

Faruk Soyarat (Turkey)
Hessam Dadkhah (Iran)
Kap (Spain)
Karry (Peru)
Stefano Antonucci (Italy)
Marc Pageau (Canada).
See all prize-winning cartoons here.

No comments: