DCMF announces winners of World Press Freedom Cartoon Contest 2013

To mark World Press Freedom Day on May 3, Doha Centre for Media Freedom organised a cartoon competition depicting the theme “Media Freedom” to honour the bravery and creativity of courageous cartoonists around the world.
DCMF received more than 200 entries from 47 countries for its inaugural DCMF World Press Freedom Cartoon Contest.
(From top down):
Alby Letoy - 1st prize winner- Cash prize of $1500
Hani Abbas - 2nd prize winner- Cash prize of $1000
Abdel Naser Z.M. Al-Jafari - 3rd prize winner- Cash prize of $800.
Jan Keulen, Director of DCMF
Ali Ferzat, cartoonist (Syria)
Shujaat Ali, cartoonist, Al Jazeera Network
Mohammed Abdullateef, cartoonist (Qatar), Al Raya newspaper
Robert Russell, Executive Director of the Cartoonists Rights Network International.
DCMF will host all the winners of the contest during the World Press Freedom Celebrations on May 1 in Doha. Apart from the the top three winners, the jury has nominated 25 cartoons that will be showcased in a cartoon exhibition on May 1.
Source: http://www.dc4mf.org/en/content/dcmf-announces-winners-world-press-freedom-cartoon-contest.

No comments: