Arrived the catalog 19th Daejeon Int'l Cartoon Contest 2010

Today received the catalog DICACO 2010, the 19th Daejeon International Cartoon Contest, South Korea, with theme: Oddity & Monster and Free theme. It is 96 pages including the covers and of size A4 (21x29.7 cm). Both cover cartoons are by Grzegorz Sobczak (Poland).

This year the Grand Prize went to the Chinese artist Xiao Qiang Hou (above) who has rendered Picasso's Guernican figures into the great oil disaster in the Gulf of Mexico and the coast of Florida. Hou's reference pieces are also great. Musa Gumus from Turkey wins the Gold Prize and Silver Prizes go to Jong In Baek (Korea) and Pawel Kuczynski (Poland). Bronze Prizes are won by Masafumi Kikuchi (Japan), Miro Stefanovic (Serbia), Mahmood Azadnia (Iran), and Heung Soo Kim (Korea). Special Prizes by the President of DICACO are given to Jose Garcia (Venezuela), Igor Varchenko (Cyprus), Arif Sutristanto (Indonesia), and Rumen Dragostinov (Bulgaria). See more winners at http://dicaco.kongju.ac.kr/content.php?db=menu02_01
In 2010, 504 artists from 58 countries sent in 1579 cartoons and 324 are awarded. The most entrants are from Korea: 86 artists and are followed equally by the Iranian and Turkish artists: 56 cartoonists each. Then comes China with 45 and Serbia with 36 entrants.
56 Turkish artists sent in 198 cartoons and 26 of those cartoonists won prizes as follows:
Gold Prize: Musa Gumus.
Student Special Prize: Esma Balkan.
Student Honorable Mention: Huseyin Mirac Bilgin.
Best Cartoon Prize: Askin Ayrancıoglu, Muhittin Koroglu, Mehmet Tural, Elsin Altin, Mete Agaoglu, Abdullah Ucyildiz, Sait Munzur, Musa Keklik, Oguz Gurel, Ercan Baysal, Kemal Ozyurt, Recep Bayramoglu, Erdogan Basol, Atila Ozer, Oktay Bingol, Mehmet Arslan, Ahmet Umit Akkoca.
Honorable Mention: Nuri Bilgin, I.Serdar Sayar, Umit Mufit Dincay, Kamil Yavuz, Seyit Saatci, Sema Undeger.

No comments: